The woes of being vegetarian in Japan

Jul 09, 2010 18:57

I was looking for this on a package: 肉 (meat) to see if the food was vegetarian. The picture on the front was of a rice risotto kind of thing.

And I saw it.

But I was hungry, and it was on the ingredients list far enough down that I decided it was probably some broth or something. Also, the picture on the front was of cheesy rice. I got it home, checked online, and determined that it was part of the emulsifier. So, not technically vegetarian, but I was going to pretend that it was.

So I opened it up.

Turns out I missed this: ベコン (bacon)

Which was pretty high on the list.

Now I have to go buy dinner again and I am sad.
Previous post Next post
Up