Bring on the stout!

Oct 09, 2005 23:50

Anyone know of a vegan stout? I *really* enjoy dark beers but do not enjoy inisglass. Guinness, apparently, is right out, but stuff like Harp just doesn't do the trick!

Thanks!

drugs-and-alcohol

Leave a comment

therainbowqueen October 10 2005, 11:46:54 UTC
Not that I drink Guinness or indeed any kind of beer, but why is Guinness not vegan, do you know?

Reply

polkydot October 10 2005, 12:12:28 UTC
...because it is clarified with isinglass.

Reply

gab_luvs_ashley October 10 2005, 14:04:37 UTC
whats isinglass?

Reply

et3rna1ly October 10 2005, 15:16:58 UTC
...something nonvegan. :P
:D

isinglass ( ichthyocoll )
"A semi-transparent whitish substance consisting of a very pure form of gelatin, produced from the sounds (swimming bladders) of the sturgeon (Acipenser huso, and other species of Acipenser), found in the Caspian and Black Seas. After removal, the bladders are cut open, soaked in water, spread out and the outer silvery membrane removed by rubbing. The isinglass contains about 80o collagen. It is used as a clarifying agent, in the manufacture of fish glue, and as a size for handmade paper. Its use in recent years has greatly diminished, due to the rise in use of synthetic materials and gelatin."

http://palimpsest.stanford.edu/don/dt/dt1901.html

yay for google.

Reply

leeighanne October 10 2005, 19:59:37 UTC
holy shit. i had no idea. not that i drink guinness, but still. as long as corona, bud light, and michelob ultra are vegan, i'm okay, i guess.

Reply

hey_beethoven October 10 2005, 20:13:06 UTC
*shudder* Eww... Bud Light!

;)

I'm just teasin.

Reply

leeighanne October 10 2005, 20:17:06 UTC
haha. c'mon now, i could've said NATTY light. hahahaha. that's enough to make anyone shudder.

Reply

hey_beethoven October 10 2005, 21:08:53 UTC
I got trashed on The BEAST once... I'm fairly sure that that stuff is made from pure, unfiltered Anti-vegan molecules.

Reply

polkydot October 10 2005, 19:35:01 UTC
www.google.com

Reply


Leave a comment

Up