While grocery shopping at Whole Foods Market late last night, I was very curious that their 365 store brand sugar was labeled as "Vegan Cane Sugar". I found that labeling to be extremely interesting. Upon further investigation this morning, it turns out that some conventional sugar manufacturers use animal
bone char for filtering/whitening the processed sugar--although the bone char never actually touches the sugar.
I found a helpful article which explained this in detail. As for my sugar purchase, I wound up scoring the more expensive Whole Foods Organic Cane Sugar, which I presume is "vegan" as well (the impurities were steamed instead of filtered by bone char). I've been purchasing non-processed sugar for the past two years anyway.